The U.S. West Surf Kayaking Association announced the dates and location of the 2007 Team Trial Event.

The trial event will be held on Feb. 10 and 11, 2007 at Pico Creek State Beach in San Simeon, CA. The event will be open to qualified men, and any women or juniors that wish to enter. Men must have competed in at least two prior events in their respective categories (women/ juniors excepted). A monetary commitment of $150 for team fees and expenses is due to the WCSKA to secure your place. All fees are due by Feb. 1, 2007.

Event registration and full details can be downloaded at

The event organizers have reserved a hotel in San Simeon with a special rate for the event. Call the Sea Breeze Motel at (805) 927-3284 and mention the surf kayak event for the $59/night rate. You must reserve by Feb. 1 to guarantee space and rate. All competitors are encouraged to stay here, as this is where event meetings will be held, information posted, and awards ceremony held.

There are several team positions that will be decided at the team trial event.

  • High Performance Men- 2 positions + Alternate
  • International Class Men- 2 positions + Alternate
  • High Performance Women- 1 position + Alternate
  • International Class Women- 1 position + Alternate
  • High Performance Junior (man or woman)- 1 position
  • International Class Junior (man or woman)- 1 position
  • Junior Alternate (man or woman)- 1 position

The other positions on the team have been selected based on points accumulated from the 2005- 2006 West Coast series, including the following events:

  • Santa Cruz 2005
  • Santa Cruz 2006
  • Pico Creek 2006
  • Davenport Nor-Cal Classic 2006

A competitor's best 3 out of 4 events were used to total points.

The 2007 Team currently consists of the following people:

High Performance Men

  1. Rusty Sage
  2. Jono Stevens

International Class Men

  1. Dave Johnston
  2. Dan Crandall

High Performance Women

  1. Kate Smith

International Class Women

  1. Morlee Griswold

The committee of the West Coast Surf Kayak Association would like to thank and congratulate all of the participants and event organizers of the west coast events and west coast series for your efforts and participation spanning the last couple of years.

On behalf of the West Coast Surf Kayak Association:

  • Jono Stevens, Chairman
  • Mickey Stowell, Secretary
  • Morlee Griswold
  • Dennis Judson
  • Demany Smith
  • Dan Crandall
  • Rusty Sage