Canoe & Kayak Awards Videos

  • 2013 Female Paddler of the Year

    Friday, August 2, 2013

    This year’s C&K Female Paddler of the Year Award goes to France slalom-athlete-turned-whitewater-champion Nouria Newman.

  • 2013 Male Paddler of the Year

    Friday, August 2, 2013

    Evan Garcia takes the win for 2013 Male Paddler of the Year.

  • 2013 Expedition of the Year

    Friday, August 2, 2013

    Taking home the biggest award of the evening, the team members of the Trans-Territorial Canoe Expedition smiled big as they took home the $2,500 Expedition Grant check, the first year it was presented at the C&K Awards.

  • 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award

    Friday, August 2, 2013

    C&K honors whitewater pioneer Rob Lesser for Lifetime Achievement for his substantial contribution to the sport of paddling.

  • 2013 Film Achievement

    Friday, August 2, 2013

    Fish Munga wins the inaugural Film Achievement Award at the 2013 Canoe & Kayak Awards.


    Friday, August 2, 2013

    C&K Editor Jeff Moag kicks off the 2013 Canoe & Kayak Awards in Salt Lake

  • 2013 Canoe & Kayak Awards Teaser

    Thursday, June 6, 2013

    The 2013 awards presentation and celebration goes off on Aug. 1 in downtown Salt Lake City. Check out highlights from last year’s awards ceremony to get a taste of the big night.

  • Male Paddler of the Year – Isaac Levinson

    Tuesday, August 7, 2012

    Whitewater legend, Rob Lesser presents Male Paddler of the year to Isaac Levinson, a Green Race podium fixture for the last few years, is making his run at a world title with a win at the 2012 AWP series’ first stage, the Little White Race, with race partner Evan Garcia.

  • Lifetime Achievement – Martin Litton

    Monday, August 6, 2012

    NRS founder and President, Bill Parks presents the Lifetime Achievement to Martin Litton who is a singular force of nature—a Category 5 hurricane of eloquence, passion, and pig-headed obduracy quite unlike anything that has ever blown across the American landscape.

  • Zeal Optics Expedition of the Year – Ellesmere Circumnavigation

    Monday, August 6, 2012

    Expedition legend, Scott Lindgren presents this award to Turk and Boomer who were an unlikely team to ski and sea kayak 1,500 miles around a remote arctic island.

  • Female Paddler of the Year – Adriene Levknecht

    Monday, August 6, 2012

    Risa Shimoda, barrier-breaking paddler presents this award. Lowering the Green Race record, competing in the Whitewater Grand Prix in Chile Adriene Levknecht charges. In addition to her serial dominance of the Green River Narrows Race, she just graduated college and got a job as a paramedic.

  • Movie of the Year – Canoe Movie 2

    Monday, August 6, 2012

    Presented by filmmaker extraordinaire Steve Fisher, the sequel to 2010’s groundbreaking Canoe Movie includes more jaw-dropping whitewater canoeing footage from across North America, including first canoe descents of Colorado steep creeks and North Carolina’s notorious Toxaway River.

  • Paddle With a Purpose – Heroes on the Water

    Monday, August 6, 2012

    Presented by Mark Singleton, American Whitewater Executive Director, Heroes on the Water brought wounded veterans together with experienced kayak anglers, and go fishing. Heroes on the Water serves all military personnel who have been wounded, injured or disabled.

  • Reel of the Year – Slippery When Wet

    Monday, August 6, 2012

    Presented by Jeff Moag, Editor-in-Chief and Jim Marsh, Publisher of Canoe & Kayak magazine Slippery When Wet: GoPro Reel from Shon Bollock on Vimeo. GoPro Hero footage compiled from Shasta Boyz Productions latest creation Slippery When Wet.

  • Red Carpet – Nick Troutman

    Monday, August 6, 2012

    Nick Trout shows his support for his wife and brother-in-law, both nominees.

  • Red Carpet – Fred Norquist

    Monday, August 6, 2012

    West Coast paddler and team Liquid Logic paddler, Fred Norquist.

  • Red Carpet – Emily Jackson

    Monday, August 6, 2012

    Female Paddler of the Year nominee, Emily Jackson.