Aaron Schmidt

Photo Editor for Canoe & Kayak Magazine

227 Articles by: Aaron Schmidt
Photo of the Day | Jasper Gibson

Photo of the Day | Jasper Gibson

Aniol Serrasolses dropping Tomata 1, one of the many falls on the Rio Alseseca, Vera Cruz, Mexico. Jasper Gibson jaspergibson.com @jaspergibson__ Jasper Gibson is a Washington-based Idaho native whose[...]

Photo of the Day | Maxi Kniewasser

Photo of the Day | Maxi Kniewasser

Grand Canyon rafting. Maxi Kniewasser maxi-kniewasser.com Born in “the flattest place on earth” (northern Germany), Kniewasser moved ever farther west, quietly notching a string of impressive inte[...]

Photo of the Day | Aaron Peterson

Photo of the Day | Aaron Peterson

Conor Mihell rough water storm paddling on Lake Superior in Ontario Canada. Aaron Peterson aaronpeterson.net @aaronpetersonphoto Just as Aaron Peterson points out that Lake Superior “is the dominant[...]

The Big Bushwhack

The Big Bushwhack

Blazing a new trail into Idaho’s storied Middle Fork SalmonWords  » Claire Cripps // Photos » Braden GunemI checked the forecast for the seventh time in three days. Still no change. Two days of c[...]

Photo of the Day | Kristoffer Vandbakk

Photo of the Day | Kristoffer Vandbakk

Surfing in Cornwall, UK. Cornwall is well known for good persistent surfing conditions. Kristoffer Vandbakk kajakknord.no @kristoffervan Kristoffer Vandbakk coaches and guides in Norway. He leads expe[...]

Photo of the Day | Scott Martin

Photo of the Day | Scott Martin

Brad McMillian placed third in the 2016 Green Race. Scott Martin scottmartinimages.com @scottmartinimages Scott stumbled into exploring rivers at a young age. With an appetite for adventure, he has fo[...]

Photo of the Day | John Webster

Photo of the Day | John Webster

Alec Voorhees paddling the iced over rapid Nutcracker. North Fork of the Payette, Idaho. John Webster webstermediahouse.com @johnjwebster Adventure photographer John Webster began shooting whitewater [...]

Photo of the Day | David Spiegel

Photo of the Day | David Spiegel

Sam Grafton on a typical spring day on the Tye River, WA. David Spiegel adventurecloud.com @d_spiegel David grew up on the rivers of the Pacific Northwest. In college he picked up a camera and began d[...]

Photo of the Day | Nick Gottlieb

Photo of the Day | Nick Gottlieb

Daphnee Tuzlak warms up as we leave our sunny lunch spot at Redwall Cavern. Nick Gottlieb nickgottlieb.photography @nickgottliebphoto Nick is an adventure sports photographer who strives to capture be[...]

Photo of the Day | Peter Mather

Photo of the Day | Peter Mather

12 year old Maya Cairns-Locke stretching her legs and practicing her draws on the crystal clear waters of the Wind River on a month long wilderness trip. Peter Mather petermather.com @matherpeter Pete[...]