Aaron Schmidt

Photo Editor for Canoe & Kayak Magazine

243 Articles by: Aaron Schmidt
Photo of the Day | John Rathwell

Photo of the Day | John Rathwell

Participants paddle at Bay of Fundy Sea Kayak Symposium in Nova Scotia. John Rathwell johnrathwell.com @johnrathwell John Rathwell is a self-taught Ottawa-based photographer who immerses viewers in ca[...]

Photo of the Day | Jens Klatt

Photo of the Day | Jens Klatt

Philip Baues, Medelser Rhein, Switzerland Jens Klatt jensklatt.com @jensklattphoto Jens Klatt is a freelance photographer from Augsburg, Germany, who started the craft of making photos in hopes of com[...]

Photo of the Day | Jasper Gibson

Photo of the Day | Jasper Gibson

Ben Marr on Silencio Falls on the Rio Alseseca, Vera Cruz, Mexico. This drop was roosting high and Aniol and Benny decided to run it still. Ben got pushed under the river left wall and ended up being [...]

Photo of the Day | Maxi Kniewasser

Photo of the Day | Maxi Kniewasser

Jules Domine, Homathko River – BC. Maxi Kniewasser maxi-kniewasser.com Born in “the flattest place on earth” (northern Germany), Kniewasser moved ever farther west, quietly notching a string[...]

Photo of the Day | Kristoffer Vandbakk

Photo of the Day | Kristoffer Vandbakk

Matt Skuse paddling the Halling river not far from the capital of Norway, Oslo. Kristoffer Vandbakk kajakknord.no @kristoffervan Kristoffer Vandbakk coaches and guides in Norway. He leads expeditions [...]

Photo of the Day | Nick Gottlieb

Photo of the Day | Nick Gottlieb

A guide from the Terlingua-based outfitter Desert Sports relaxes as the walls of Mariscal Canyon rise above him on the Rio Grande. Nick Gottlieb nickgottlieb.photography @nickgottliebphoto Nick is an [...]

Photo of the Day | Scott Martin

Photo of the Day | Scott Martin

John Carmody leads Gretchin Powers though the low lying fog in Boothbay, Maine. John has a strong connection to the ocean. Scott Martin scottmartinimages.com @scottmartinimages Scott stumbled into exp[...]

Photo of the Day | Darin McQuoid

Photo of the Day | Darin McQuoid

Shannamar Dewey – Fuefuki Gawa (Nishizawa Canyon) Japan. Darin McQuoid darinmcquoid.com @darinmcquoid “When I found kayaking it was the perfect way to explore river canyons,” says Darin McQu[...]

Photo of the Day | David Spiegel

Photo of the Day | David Spiegel

Leif Anderson showcasing his surf-style playboating steez at Skookumchuck, BC. David Spiegel adventurecloud.com @d_spiegel David grew up on the rivers of the Pacific Northwest. In college he picked up[...]

Photo of the Day | Ryan Creary

Photo of the Day | Ryan Creary

Mikkel St. Jean Duncan, Johnston Canyon, Banff National Park, AB Ryan Creary ryancreary.com @ryancreary After getting a taste for paddling during his university semesters in Ontario and summers spent [...]