Aaron Schmidt

Photo Editor for Canoe & Kayak Magazine

275 Articles by: Aaron Schmidt
Photo of the Day | Darin McQuoid

Photo of the Day | Darin McQuoid

Jonas Grunwald, Metlako Falls, Eagle Creek Darin McQuoid darinmcquoid.com @darinmcquoid “When I found kayaking it was the perfect way to explore river canyons,” says Darin McQuoid who grew up “i[...]

Photo of the Day | David Spiegel

Photo of the Day | David Spiegel

Zak Podmore in the depths of the Grand Canyon of the Elwha. David Spiegel adventurecloud.com @d_spiegel David grew up on the rivers of the Pacific Northwest. In college he picked up a camera and began[...]

Photo of the Day | Ryan Creary

Photo of the Day | Ryan Creary

Glen Carpenter, Lundbreck Falls, Crowsnest Pass, AB Ryan Creary ryancreary.com @ryancreary After getting a taste for paddling during his university semesters in Ontario and summers spent guiding sea k[...]

High Water, Big Finishes at 2017 North Fork Championship VI

High Water, Big Finishes at North Fork Championship VI

Photo gallery and event recap from Idaho's 2017 North Fork Championship VI

Five Classic Southern Ontario Whitewater Rivers

Five Classic Southern Ontario Whitewater Rivers

Adventurer Jim Baird highlights five classic Southern Ontario whitewater rivers benefiting from an unseasonably late high-water season.

Photo of the Day | Nick Gottlieb

Photo of the Day | Nick Gottlieb

Daphnee Tuzlak on a rainy day on Idaho’s Selway River. Nick Gottlieb nickgottlieb.photography @nickgottliebphoto Nick is an adventure sports photographer who strives to capture beautiful photos of t[...]

Photo of the Day | Jens Klatt

Photo of the Day | Jens Klatt

Olaf Obsommer, Inn River, Austria. Jens Klatt jensklatt.com @jensklattphoto Jens Klatt is a freelance photographer from Augsburg, Germany, who started the craft of making photos in hopes of communicat[...]

Photo of the Day | Jasper Gibson

Photo of the Day | Jasper Gibson

Ben Marr laying treats on Twisted Pleasure on the Rio Jalacingo, Vera Cruz, Mexico. Jasper Gibson jaspergibson.com @jaspergibson__ Jasper Gibson is a Washington-based Idaho native whose growing action[...]

Photo of the Day | Maxi Kniewasser

Photo of the Day | Maxi Kniewasser

Chris Tredwold and Jules Domine, Homathko River – BC. Maxi Kniewasser maxi-kniewasser.com Born in “the flattest place on earth” (northern Germany), Kniewasser moved ever farther west, quietl[...]

Photo of the Day | Kristoffer Vandbakk

Photo of the Day | Kristoffer Vandbakk

Paddling in the Reine fjord in Lofoten, Northern Norway. This area is very popular among tourists, but sea kayakers usually have the whole fjord to ourselves. Kristoffer Vandbakk kajakknord.no @kristo[...]