Aaron Schmidt

Photo Editor for Canoe & Kayak Magazine

206 Articles by: Aaron Schmidt
Photo of the Day | John Rathwell

Photo of the Day | John Rathwell

Joel Kowalski and Matt Hamilton celebrate an epic misty morning run on the Ottawa River just below The Lorne Rapid in Beachburg Ontario Canada. John Rathwell johnrathwell.com @johnrathwell John Rathwe[...]

Photo of the Day | Maxi Kniewasser

Photo of the Day | Maxi Kniewasser

Ric Moxon, Rob Murphy, Upper Squamish, BC. Maxi Kniewasser maxi-kniewasser.com Born in “the flattest place on earth” (northern Germany), Kniewasser moved ever farther west, quietly notching a stri[...]

Photo of the Day | Fred Marmsater

Photo of the Day | Fred Marmsater

Shay Bickley and Chris Bensch, the mighty Colombia, OR. Fred Marmsater fredrikmarmsater.com @fmarmsaterphoto  Fred Marmsater specializing in shooting in remote locations and capturing athletes pushi[...]

Photo of the Day | Ryan Creary

Photo of the Day | Ryan Creary

Conor Mihell, Wabakimi Provinical Park, ON. Ryan Creary ryancreary.com @ryancreary After getting a taste for paddling during his university semesters in Ontario and summers spent guiding sea kayak tri[...]

Photo of the Day | Nick Gottlieb

Photo of the Day | Nick Gottlieb

Exiting a canyon on the Rio Grande, returning to the wide open desert landscape of Big Bend National Park. Nick Gottlieb nickgottlieb.photography @nickgottliebphoto Nick is an adventure sports photogr[...]

Photo of the Day | Scott Martin

Photo of the Day | Scott Martin

Rafting Gorilla pre race got the crowd fired up for the competitors.  Green Race 2016. Scott Martin scottmartinimages.com @scottmartinimages Scott stumbled into exploring rivers at a young age. With [...]

Photo of the Day | John Webster

Photo of the Day | John Webster

Adam Bass paddling through the notorious Impassable Canyon on the Middle Fork Salmon, Idaho. John Webster webstermediahouse.com @johnjwebster Adventure photographer John Webster began shooting whitewa[...]

Photo of the Day | Jasper Gibson

Photo of the Day | Jasper Gibson

Dane Jackson surfing the Bridge Rapid in Dalbo Mistissini, Quebec on  a stakeout day during the 2014 WWGP Jasper Gibson jaspergibson.com @jaspergibson__ Jasper Gibson is a Washington-based Idaho nati[...]

Photo of the Day | Jens Klatt

Photo of the Day | Jens Klatt

Olaf Obsommer, Guil river, France. Jens Klatt jensklatt.com @jensklattphoto Jens Klatt is a freelance photographer from Augsburg, Germany, who started the craft of making photos in hopes of communicat[...]

Photo of the Day | Kristoffer Vandbakk

Photo of the Day | Kristoffer Vandbakk

The Naeroy fjord is Norway´s most narrow fjord. It is busy with tourists during summertime, but you may have it all to yourself in the off-season. Kristoffer Vandbakk kajakknord.no @kristoffervan Kri[...]